All-MWC Team Is Named

Player of the year DonTrell Moore

No doubt some of the greatest players in UNM football history are named to the All-MWC team. DonTrell Moore offensive MVP

No Bowl game and expectations were definitely not met, that doesn't mean UNM didn't' have a good year, especially some individual honors as RB DonTrell Moore was named Mountain West Conference Offensive Player of the Year and was once again unanimously named to the 1st team All-MWC team. DonTrell is the only MWC player to be named 1st team all-conference in all 4 years of his eligibility.


DonTrell Moore was joined on the 1st team by teammates WR Hank Baskett III, C Ryan Cook, OL Robert Turner, Dl Evroy Thompson, LB Mike Mohoric, and CB Gabriel Fulbright.


LB Kody Case was given Honorable Mention All-MWC honors.


Here is the list of players and teams named:



 Offensive Player of the Year
DonTrell Moore, Sr., TB, New Mexico

Defensive Player of the Year
Eric Weddle, Jr., DB, Utah

Freshman of the Year
Aaron Brown, TB, TCU

Coach of the Year
Gary Patterson, TCU

All-Mountain West First-Team

Offense Pos. Player Cl. School

QB John Beck Jr. BYU

WR Hank Baskett III Sr. New Mexico

WR Jovon Bouknight Sr. Wyoming

RB Curtis Brown Jr. BYU

RB DonTrell Moore* Sr. New Mexico

TE Jonny Harline So. BYU

OL Ryan Cook Sr. New Mexico

OL Robert Turner Jr. New Mexico

OL Herbert Taylor Jr. TCU

OL Michael Toudouze Sr. TCU

OL Jesse Boone Sr. Utah

PK Dan Beardall Sr. Utah

PR/KR Cory Rodgers Jr. TCU

Defense Pos. Player Cl. School

DL Tommy Blake So. TCU

DL Chase Ortiz So. TCU

DL Evroy Thompson Sr. New Mexico

DL Steve Fifita Sr. Utah

LB Mike Mohoric Sr. New Mexico

LB Freddy Keiaho Sr. San Diego State

LB Spencer Toone Sr. Utah

DB Gabriel Fulbright Sr. New Mexico

DB Marcus Demps Sr. San Diego State

DB Quincy Butler Sr. TCU

DB Eric Weddle Jr. Utah

P Jimmie Kaylor So. Colorado State

Denotes unanimous selection.

All-Mountain West Second-Team

Offense Pos. Player Cl. School

QB Brian Johnson So. Utah

WR David Anderson Sr. Colorado State

WR Jeff Webb Sr. San Diego State

RB Kyle Bell So. Colorado State

RB Quinton Ganther Sr. Utah

TE Greg Estandia Sr. UNLV

OL Jon Wilson Sr. Air Force

OL Jake Kuresa Jr. BYU

OL Lance Reynolds, Jr. Sr. BYU

OL Michael Brisiel Sr. Colorado State

OL Tavo Tupola Jr. Utah

OL Stephen Culp Sr. TCU

PK Chris Manfredini So. TCU

PR/KR Jovon Bouknight Sr. Wyoming

Defense Pos. Player Cl. School

DL Manaia Brown Sr. BYU

DL Kurt Kahui Sr. San Diego State

DL Ranorris Ray Sr. TCU

DL Dusty Hoffschneider Sr. Wyoming

LB Cameron Jensen Jr. BYU

LB Jason Phillips Fr. TCU

LB Beau Bell So. UNLV

DB Drew Coleman Sr. TCU

DB Jeremy Modkins Sr. TCU

DB Joe Miklos Sr. UNLV

DB Casey Evans Jr. Utah

P Michael Hughes So. San Diego State

Honorable Mention

Air Force: Bobby Giannini, So., DB; Gilberto Perez, Jr., DL; Ross Weaver, Sr., OL. BYU: Justin Luettgerodt, Jr., LB. Colorado State: Josh Day, Jr., OL; Travis Garcia, Sr., S; Robert Herbert, Jr., DB; Courtney Jones, Sr., LB, Miles Kochevar, Sr., Jesse Nading, So., DL; Clint Oldenburg, Jr., OL; Kory Sperry, So., TE.


New Mexico: Cody Kase, So., LB. San Diego State: Antwan Applewhite, So., DL; Reggie Grigsby, Sr., DB; Jasper Harvey, Sr., OL; Joe Martin, Jr., LB; Terrell Maze, Jr., DB; Garrett Palmer, So., PK. TCU: Jeff Ballard, Jr., QB; Aaron Brown, Fr. TB; Robert Hensen, Fr., LB; Robert Merrill, Jr. TB; Cory Rodgers, Jr., WR; Marvin White, Jr., DB. UNLV: Sergio Aguayo, So., K; Howie Fuimaono, Jr, DL; Leon Moore, Sr., DL. Utah: None. Wyoming: Ward Dobbs, Fr., LB; John Flora, Sr., DL; Chase Johnson, Jr., OL; Jason Karcher, Jr. OL; Derrick Martin, Jr., DB; Ron Rockett, Sr., DB; John Wendling, Jr., DB.


Congratulations to all Lobos named, you guys are leaving one hell of a tradition for Lobo teams and players in the future to look up to. Recommended Stories

Up Next